Program

The program starts on July 11, 2021 (for all time zones).

EDT 09:00 - 09:15, July 11
CEST 15:00 - 15:15, July 11
CST 21:00 - 21:15, July 11
IST 18:30 - 18:45, July 11
AEST 23:00 -23:15, July 11

Opening

EDT 09:15 - 10:15, July 11
CEST 15:15 - 16:15, July 11
CST 21:15 - 22:15, July 11
IST 18:45 - 19:45, July 11
AEST 23:15 - 00:15, July 11

Keynote

Fairness and Control of Exposure in Two-sided Markets

Thorsten Joachims

EDT 10:30 - 12:10, July 11
CEST 16:30 - 18:10, July 11
CST 22:30 - 00:10, July 11
IST 20:00 - 21:40, July 11
AEST 00:30 - 02:10, July 12

Session 1A - Ranking (1)

Chair: Qingyao Ai

Effective and Privacy-preserving Federated Online Learning to Rank

Shuyi Wang, Bing Liu, Shengyao Zhuang and Guido Zuccon

(Long talk)

Towards Axiomatic Explanations for Neural Ranking Models

Michael Völske, Alexander Bondarenko, Maik Fröbe, Benno Stein, Jaspreet Singh, Matthias Hagen and Avishek Anand

(Long talk)

User Fairness, Item Fairness and Diversity for Rankings in Two-Sided Marketsl

Lequn Wang and Thorsten Joachims

(Long talk)

Pareto Solutions vs Dataset Optima: Concepts and Methods for Optimizing Competing Objectives with Constraints in Retrieval

Soumyajit Gupta, Gurpreet Singh, Anubrata Das and Matthew Lease

(Long talk)

EDT 10:30 - 12:10, July 11
CEST 16:30 - 18:10, July 11
CST 22:30 - 00:10, July 11
IST 20:00 - 21:40, July 11
AEST 00:30 - 02:10, July 12

Session 1B- User Interaction

Chair: Fabio Crestani

Incorporating Widget Positioning in Interaction Models of Search Behaviour

Nirmal Roy, Arthur Barbosa Câmara, David Maxwell and Claudia Hauff

(Long talk)

The Impact of Entity Cards on Learning-Oriented Search Tasks

Sara Salimzadeh, David Maxwell and Claudia Hauff

(Long talk)

Untangling the Concept of Task in Information Seeking and Retrieval

Ayah Soufan, Ian Ruthven and Leif Azzopardi

(Long talk)

An Integrated Model of Task, Information Needs, Sources and Uncertainty to Design Task-Aware Search Systems

Shawon Sarkar and Chirag Shah

(Long talk)

EDT 10:30 - 12:05, July 11
CEST 16:30 - 18:05, July 11
CST 22:30 - 00:05, July 11
IST 20:00 - 21:35, July 11
AEST 00:30 - 02:05, July 12

Session 1C- Content Analysis

Chair: Makoto P. Kato

Sentiment Intensity Prediction using Neural Word Embeddings

Amal Htait and Leif Azzopardi

(Long talk)

News Article Retrieval in Context for Event-centric Narrative Creation

Nikos Voskarides, Edgar Meij, Sabrina Sauer and Maarten de Rijke

(Long talk)

Can Language Models Identify Wikipedia Articles with Readability and Style Issues?

Yang Liu, Alan Medlar and Dorota Glowacka

(Short talk)

Multi-label Classification of Short Texts with Label Correlated Recurrent Neural Networks

Zhiyuan Peng, Behnoush Abdollahi, Min Xie and Yi Fang

(Short talk)

What's the Simplest Thing That Can Possibly Work? Pseudo-Relevance Feedback via Text Classification

Xiao Han, Yuqi Liu and Jimmy Lin

(Short talk)

EDT 12:30 - 13:35, July 11
CEST 18:30 - 19:35, July 11
CST 00:30 - 01:35, July 12
IST 22:00 - 23:05, July 11
AEST 02:30 - 03:35, July 12

Session 2A - Ranking (2)

Chair: Djoerd Hiemstra

Ensemble Distillation for BERT-Based Ranking Models

Honglei Zhuang, Zhen Qin, Shuguang Han, Xuanhui Wang, Michael Bendersky and Marc Najork

(Long talk)

Ranking by Language Similarity for Resource Scarce Southern Bantu Languages

Catherine Chavula and Hussein Suleman

(Long talk)

Understanding the Effectiveness of Reviews in E-commerce Top-N Recommendation

Zhichao Xu, Hansi Zeng and Qingyao Ai

(Short talk)

EDT 12:30 - 13:35, July 11
CEST 18:30 - 19:35, July 11
CST 00:30 - 01:35, July 12
IST 22:00 - 23:05, July 11
AEST 02:30 - 03:35, July 12

Session 2B - Conversational Search

Chair: Hamed Zamani

Asking Clarifying Questions Based on Negative Feedback in Conversational Search

Keping Bi, Qingyao Ai and W. Bruce Croft

(Long talk)

Towards Facet-Driven Generation of Clarifying Questions for Conversational Search

Ivan Sekulic, Mohammad Aliannejadi and Fabio Crestani

(Long talk)

Effective Query Formulation in Conversation Contextualization:A Query Specificity-based Approach

Dipasree Pal and Debasis Ganguly

(Short talk)

EDT 13:35 - 15:30, July 11
CEST 19:35 - 21:30, July 11
CST 01:35 - 03:30, July 12
IST 23:05 - 01:00, July 11
AEST 03:35 - 05:30, July 12

Poster session 1

Papers presented at sessions 1A, 1B, 1C, 2A, and 2B

EDT 04:00 - 05:20, July 12
CEST 10:00 - 11:20, July 12
CST 16:00 - 17:20, July 12
IST 13:30 - 14:50, July 12
AEST 18:00 - 19:20, July 12

Session 3A - Queries

Chair: Guido Zuccon

A Modern Perspective on Query Likelihood with Deep Generative Retrieval Models

Oleg Lesota, Navid Rekabsaz, Daniel Cohen, Klaus Antonius Grasserbauer, Carsten Eickhoff and Markus Schedl

(Long talk)

Modality Effects When Simulating User Querying Tasks

Joel Mackenzie and Alistair Moffat

(Short talk)

Extracting per Query Valid Explanations for Blackbox Learning-to-Rank Models

Jaspreet Singh, Zhenye Wang, Megha Khosla and Avishek Anand

(Short talk)

Recommending Search Queries in Documents Using Inter N-Gram Similarities

Eilon Sheetrit, Yaroslav Fyodorov, Fiana Raiber and Oren Kurland

(Long talk)

EDT 04:00 - 05:10, July 12
CEST 10:00 - 11:10, July 12
CST 16:00 - 17:10, July 12
IST 13:30 - 14:40, July 12
AEST 18:00 - 19:10, July 12

Session 3B - Evaluation

Chair: Mohammad Aliannejadi

Decomposition and Interleaving for Variance Reduction of Post-click Metrics

Kojiro Iizuka, Yoshifumi Seki and Makoto Kato

(Long talk)

ERR is not C/W/L: Exploring the Relationship Between Expected Reciprocal Rank and Other Metrics

Leif Azzopardi, Joel Mackenzie and Alistair Moffat

(Short talk)

A Fast and Exact Randomisation Test for Comparing Two Systems with Paired Data

Rikiya Suzuki and Tetsuya Sakai

(Short talk)

How do Metric Score Distributions affect the Type I Error Rate of Statistical Significance Tests in Information Retrieval?

Julián Urbano, Matteo Corsi and Alan Hanjalic

(Short talk)

EDT 05:30 - 07:00, July 12
CEST 11:30 - 13:00, July 12
CST 17:30 - 19:00, July 12
IST 15:00 - 16:30, July 12
AEST 19:30 - 21:00, July 12

Session 4A - Question Answering

Chair: Debasis Ganguly

A Discriminative Semantic Ranker for Question Retrieval

Yinqiong Cai, Yixing Fan, Jiafeng Guo, Ruqing Zhang, Yanyan Lan and Xueqi Cheng

(Long talk)

Evaluating BERT-based Rewards for Question Generation with Reinforcement Learning

Peide Zhu and Claudia Hauff

(Long talk)

Passage Similarity and Diversification in Non-factoid Question Answering

Lakshmi Nair Vikraman, Ali Montazeralghaem, Helia Hashemi, W. Bruce Croft and James Allan

(Long talk)

A Novel Approach for Mining Team Leaders in Community Question Answering

Sepideh Entezari Maleki and Mahmood Neshati

(Short talk)

EDT 05:30 - 07:00, July 12
CEST 11:30 - 13:00, July 12
CST 17:30 - 19:00, July 12
IST 15:00 - 16:30, July 12
AEST 19:30 - 21:00, July 12

Session 4B - Semantic Retrieval

Chair: Harrie Oosterhuis

More Robust Dense Retrieval with Contrastive Dual Learning

Yizhi Li, Zhenghao Liu, Chenyan Xiong and Zhiyuan Liu

(Long talk)

Pseudo-Relevance Feedback for Multiple Representation Dense Retrieval

Xiao Wang, Craig Macdonald, Nicola Tonellotto and Iadh Ounis

(Long talk)

Semantic Hilbert Space for Interactive Image Retrieval

Amit Kumar Jaiswal, Haiming Liu and Ingo Frommholz

(Long talk)

BERT-based Dense Retrievers Require Interpolation with BM25 for Effective Passage Retrieval

Shuai Wang, Shengyao Zhuang and Guido Zuccon

(Short talk)

EDT 07:00 - 09:00, July 12
CEST 13:00 - 15:00, July 12
CST 19:00 - 21:00, July 12
IST 16:30 - 18:30, July 12
AEST 21:00 - 23:00, July 12

Poster session 2

Papers presented at sessions 3A, 3B, 4A, and 4B